Progression Goal

USW-logoUniversity Courses

 

The one university course which I have found on which I am interested onto perusing into after college is “Graphic Communication” at the university of south wales, located in Cardiff. The pros of the course to do with this course is that I’ll be exploiting my graphical skills in more depth, working on new projects which I have not undertaken in college and also learning new skills around the graphical side of the course which I will be undertaking practise within the 3 years whilst working with clients, the campus located is not as far to where I am living at which makes me feel more comfortable about the travelling distances. The qualification side of the course to enrol onto the course is not as bad as I would’ve thought (DMM – MMP ) for BTEC students as it is understandable on trying to achieve high grades within college to then work onto something more different and technological in university. The cons for the course is probably the financial side, the equipment that we would be provided with costs a lot of money, let alone the trips that they will be providing throughout the years which is around just over £400 and also the printing expenses is around £150 – £300 so the expenses of the course is very expensive if I had not prepared myself for university on top of the the fee that I would have to pay off at £9000 also the employability rate at around 80% which isn’t so bad but not that reliable as a last resort.

 

http://www.southwales.ac.uk/courses/ba-hons-graphic-communication/

 

Graphic Design BA

 

The other course which I had looked at is a Graphic Design in Brighton which is allowing the students to work on and improve the graphical skills on where the students had studied from, so it would come within typography and letterpress printing , book designing , exhibit designing and etc. the pros in the course is that the entry requirement range for the students is DDM-MMM only because in my personal opinion the university would want people who are dedicated into graphic designing and are taking on the right people for the course which would obviously be expected in their portfolio but the cons of the course is that its too far away for distance as it in in England. The UK full time expenses is £250 more than the course in the Cardiff university meaning expenses on equipment is also more expensive

https://www.brighton.ac.uk/courses/study/graphic-design-ba-hons.aspx

Pro / Cons about having a job

But something else for me to discuss is the advantages and disadvantages on getting into a job if I was too finish college straight away. the pros about me doing this decision is that my finance income would be increased and i would be earning a lot of money if I were too work in a graphical industry, the skills that i would have learned in college would give me a slight chance on getting a job within this sector, but the disadvantages of this is that I would’ve had 2 years learning experience also I feel I wouldn’t have the portfolio and grade evidence to get into a job like that, so to finish university and get a degree within the graphic course available their would be something I would defiantly need to have. because most jobs within this criteria are looking for people with excellent skills within adobe software and a strong portfolio, so to finish college and to find a job within this sector is very unlikely.

The progression goal which I would like to undertake is probably the university course in Cardiff called “Graphic Communication” only because that the course is within a skill rate which I feel comfortable and confident that I could possibly do will in, also the campus being closer to home is also good as I feel if anything goes wrong if I was living elsewhere would be a not so good idea but to be living closer to home at least I have some sort of back up plan not just that, but to also possibly get a job in the sector which I will be studying in, because it would be pointless to study something I enjoy but to also not get into that job criteria in the near future. Although there is variety of sectors of media which I do enjoy, the employability rate on perusing my career is very risky, which I can not afford to do, so to work as hard as possible in college to achieve the grades for the course is something I am willing to work on, to try and understand the different criteria of my course and to improve my skills within it which I will be undertaking for university

Screen Shot 2017-10-04 at 12.56.48

above as you can see is a skills audit which has helped me see a good view on some good strong points and also some disadvantages of what I can work on at. importantly I think that the things which can help me get into university is showing that my presentation of my work is excellent, so nothing messy and to also show a lifelong learning journey within the presentation of my work, so for an example presenting how I have created my work, discussing what inspired me etc also presenting stages of my graphical work and discuss how I had produced problem solving, but also the things i would like to try and improve on is to become more creative in my work and have a lot to talk about within my designs and also try to improve my self management so try and get less shifts and try to come into college on time and try to get more rest whenever Im free. This sort of plan could help me out not only whilst I am on the second year of my course but also for university as of what I had discussed with my tutor on ways I could make this happen.

Leave a comment